What are the eras of the new Star Wars canon?

Joonas Suotamo is Chewbacca, Oscar Isaac is Poe Dameron, Daisy Ridley is Rey and John Boyega is Finn in STAR WARS: THE RISE OF SKYWALKER
Joonas Suotamo is Chewbacca, Oscar Isaac is Poe Dameron, Daisy Ridley is Rey and John Boyega is Finn in STAR WARS: THE RISE OF SKYWALKER /

The Star Wars universe is expanding, and that means a reshaping of the Star Wars eras has followed.

Over the years, we’ve seen many gaps in the Star Wars timeline be filled. At the turn of the millennium, we saw the backstory of the Clone Wars and the Jedi’s end come to life with the prequels. Beginning in 2015, we saw what happened after the Empire was taken down in the sequels. And in between that, we’ve had more gaps filled with the various Star Wars TV shows that have come into the narrative.

Now, to neatly wrap that up with a bow, Star Wars has organized a new all-encompassing timeline to organize the eras of Star Wars. This is all within the new canon (sorry to the Legends books), which means it includes anything from the movies and the TV shows as well as the new books part of the Disney canon. And with the release of the High Republic novels, that gave Star Wars the chance to debut the new eras that make up the current Star Wars canon.

With this newly reshaped timeline (via Inside the Magic), the Star Wars canon is broken up into six distinct eras. You can see so in the chart below.

Official Star Wars timeline

Star Wars eras
Star Wars timeline and eras. Photo: Lucasfilm. /

So, here’s what the current timeline of Star Wars looks like:

  • The High Republic
  • Fall of the Jedi
  • Reign of the Empire
  • Age of Rebellion
  • The New Republic
  • Rise of the First Order

The first era, so far, is completely composed of the High Republic books. There have been rumors that there will be a series revolving around this time period. But so far, this is only a literary series, and it tells the tale of the Jedi 200 years prior to The Phantom Menace.

Next, we have the Fall of the Jedi, which is essentially just the prequel movies. That also includes the animated series Star Wars: The Clone Wars, which they snuggly nestle between Episodes II and III on the timeline. After that is something of a new era to the Star Wars universe, which is the Reign of the Empire, something we certainly haven’t seen on screen prior to 2018. With Solo: A Star Wars Story, we got to see what that was like through the eyes of a young Han SoloAnd according to this timeline, we’ll also see that in the upcoming Disney+ series Star Wars: The Bad Batch. 

After that, the second half of the timeline is split into three parts. The first of those is the Age of the Rebellion. The era kicks off with the series Star Wars Rebels followed by Rogue One: A Star Wars Story, then the rest is essentially the original trilogy. Another new addition to the Star Wars timeline comes next in the era of the New Republic. The only property to fill this spot right now is The Mandalorian. But in the future, The Book of Boba Fett looks to take place in this time as well as Star Wars: Rangers of the New Republic and possibly the Ahsoka series.

Lastly, things come to a close with the Rise of the First Order. Bundled into this is the series Star Wars Resistance as well as the sequel films. And so far, that wraps the Star Wars timeline.

What’s unclear, for now, is if anything will come after the Rise of the First Order. Will we get an era similar to the New Republic? Will it be an era of peace? It seems with the projects Star Wars has now, they’re content to stay within the boundaries of this timeline and not extend any further. So we’ll have to keep an eye out for how this timeline fills out once other projects and their stories are announced.

Related Story. 15 best performances in Star Wars. light

Keep up with Dork Side of the Force for more!