5 Actors from The Force Awakens Confirmed for Star Wars: Episode VIII


During a press-tour in Mexico, Lucasfilm President Kathleen Kennedy confirmed three actors from The Force Awakens will reprise their role in Star Wars: Episode VIII.

Kathleen Kennedy (Lucasfilm President), Lupita Nyong’o (Maz Kanata), and Oscar Isaac (Poe Dameron), took the Star Wars: The Force Awakens press-tour through Mexico, this week, and while there, the Lucasfilm President confirmed the return of three characters from The Force Awakens to Star Wars: Episode VIII. Speaking to Mexican website Excelsior, Kennedy also confirmed that Episode VIII would be filming in Mexico.

"“We will shoot a part of Episode VIII and probably some shots for Rogue One, who still have not decided. Especially in the periphery, in the city there, because it seems not much space.”"

As far as the actors returning to Episode VIII, Kennedy confirmed that Game of Thrones star Gwendoline Christie will return as Captain Phasma, as well as John Boyega as Finn, and Oscar Isaac as Poe Dameron. Then there’s the confirmation that Mark Hamill as Luke Skywalker, and Daisy Ridley as Rey were filming scenes for Episode VIII with that film’s director, Rian Johnson, on the Irish island of Skellig Michael.

With just seven days from the worldwide premiere of Star Wars: The Force Awakens, it’s comforting to know that some of the film’s stars will be returning for the sequel. We also know that Benicio Del Toro will be playing the part of a bad guy, with the actor even going so far as to say he would be connected with the Dark Side. This left many fans theorizing that he will be a Sith in Episode VIII.

Next: J.J. Abrams talks Expanded Universe and The Force Awakens

Star Wars: The Force Awakens premieres on December 17 and 18, with the L.A. Red Carpet Event coming on December 14. Make sure to stay tuned to Dork Side of the Force as we will cover the live-stream of all the happenings from Hollywood.

H/T – Excelsior