The Star Wars: The Clone Wars episodes you need to watch before Season 7

Star Wars: Episode 2 - Attack of the Clones (2002). Lucasfilm Entertainment Company Ltd., All Rights Reserved
Star Wars: Episode 2 - Attack of the Clones (2002). Lucasfilm Entertainment Company Ltd., All Rights Reserved /

The final season of The Clone Wars drops on Disney+ this month. Here are the most important episodes from the first 6 seasons.

It’s finally happening! The first episode of The Clone Wars Season 7 drops on Disney+ this month. And if you’re like us, you haven’t quite had the chance to dive into a full rewatch before new episodes arrive.

The most important episodes of The Clone Wars aren’t just the ones that tie in to the bigger timeline. There are also several story arcs that you’ll need a refresher on (or introduction to) before the new season comes out.

More from Star Wars: The Clone Wars

If you don’t have time to rewatch every episode of The Clone Wars in chronological order — or you don’t want to rush through the series if it’s your first time watching — these are the episodes that will bring you up to speed.

“Eminence” / “Shades of Reason” / “The Lawless”

Season 5, Episodes 14 – 16

At this point, it’s pretty safe to assume that the Seige of Mandalore arc in Season 7 will close out the show … which also means we’re going to have to watch Order 66 happen all over again, but in animated form this time. Why, Dave Filoni? Why are you doing this to us?

To understand Maul’s involvement in all this mess, it’s going to be helpful to go back and watch his ruthless takeover of the place. Sorry, this means you’re going to have to watch one of the saddest ends to a could-have-been love story in all of Star Wars (no exaggeration here), but it adds to the dark and twisted man that Maul has become.

Not to give too much away if you haven’t witnessed this heartbreak, but if you’re missing more than just this arc, you might also want to watch Season 2, Episodes 12 -14 before you jump here. Also helpful in further understanding the Mandalore situation, however.

“Sabotage” / “The Jedi Who Knew Too Much” / “To Catch a Jedi” / “The Wrong Jedi

Season 5, Episodes 17 – 20

Ahsoka Tano started out as an unfairly hated character when she first appeared in The Clone Wars movie in 2008. However, she has since grown to become the favorite of many. Which is why it’s so heartbreaking to see her being framed for a crime we know she did not commit.

In some of the most intense and eye-opening arcs in the series, we come to truly understand just how flawed the Jedi Order really is … and what can happen when you feel you have no choice but to stand up to it.

At the end of it all, Ahsoka makes a choice that will change the course of her life forever. And you kind of need to understand how that came about (or remind yourself of its level of heartbreak) before watching her return in Season 7.

“The Unknown” / “Conspiracy” / “Fugitive” / “Orders”

Season 6, Episodes 1 – 4

This quartet of episodes is technically part of the season known as “The Lost Missions” — its 13 episodes were never aired on its home network. However, it contains within what might end up being some of the most important information you’ll want to know before Season 7 arrives on Disney+.

This story arc follows several clone troopers as they seek to uncover a mystery. After one of their own goes rogue, questions arise about what really makes a clone obey his programming.

Based on what we know from canon material so far, the Seige of Mandalore takes place at the time Palpatine distributes Order 66. We also know that not every clone trooper ended up turning on their Jedi generals. These episodes will help explain why.

Bonus: The Mortis arc – “Overlords” / “Altar of Mortis” / “Ghosts of Mortis”

Season 3, Episodes 15 – 17

While these three episodes aren’t necessarily essential prior to season 7 viewing specifically, there’s no need to pass up an opportunity to watch them — especially if you haven’t seen them before.

You really don’t need prior Clone Wars knowledge to get into this arc. All you need to know is that Ahsoka is Anakin’s Padawan, and like most other people in his life, he’s not married to the idea of having to let her go under any circumstances.

The Mortis arc has become a literal gateway into our deeper understanding of the Cosmic Force. It sets up some of the most important elements of Rebels (particularly Season 4) and has already paved the way for further stories told about the World Between Worlds.

We’ve been waiting a long time for this. Bring it on.

Related Story. Check out Dave Filoni’s clever Star Wars: The Clone Wars tease. light

Which of the three main story arcs are you most looking forward to in the new season?